Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Ebay Addict

3 Comments

This week I started my job at TSTC! I’m very excited and nervous all rolled into one!

It’s funny, because I’m the student in charge of planning and organizing weekly activities for the students on campus and yet I am such an introvert and hardly ever leave my dorm! But I will give myself some credit…I’m not neccessarily bad at making friends or talking to people most of the time, I just prefer not to hang out with people all the time. It’s exhausting to my quiet personality to be with large groups of people for long periods of time. But I am happy about my job. I am going to organize the first event which is Bingo night next week. I hope people show up, though!

Monday was my last day at Porky’s. I was scheduled to work in the back and to end my short-lived porkys career as the ever trusty dish washer. But a girl called in and there was no one with “more experience” to take her spot in the kitchen so I fried fish instead of washed dishes. The entire time I was back there the owner could not seem to believe the other workers that I was doing fine, but that added to the fun of my day! She didn’t give me a chance to prove to her that I’m half way decent at doing other jobs besides dish washer the whole time I worked there, and I prove her completely wrong and succeed in cooking without a hitch on my very last day of working for her. Sort of ‘sticking it to the man’ in my own sort of way. I do appreciate that job, though! It really helped me out and washing dishes wasn’t so bad, really. Donna did a lot for me and was gracious enough to work around my school schedule. I definitely don’t regreat working there! That being said, I don’t regret quitting, either.

In other news, I got nominated by Student Ambassadors to run in the Mr. and Ms. TSTC Pageant in March. So, of course I’m, once again, addicted to ebay.com because I’m trying to find a good dress to wear at the pageant. I’m putting up ‘vote for me’ flyers tomorrow (weather permitting) even though I don’t really care if I win or not. The scholarship prize money would be nice, but I’m mainly doing the pageant so I can dress up! It’ll be fun and a reason to get out of my dorm room and actually be a part of the student body, which doesn’t happen often but, of course, will be happening more due to my new job!

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Ebay Addict

  1. Oh Porky’s! Is that the place in Marshall with the Brown Pig sandwiches?? I LOVE THOSE! If anyone I know every goes through that area, I force them to stop and buy me like a pound of that stuff with the sauce!

    If it’s not the same place, disregard everything I said. =)

  2. No that’s the same place! And yes, those sandwiches are great! haha

    At first I didn’t trust anything because I only worked in the back with the bloody pieces of meat so I didn’t eat anything! But I finally saw how well everything was processed so I trust it now!

    I must admit I liked that 50% discount I got….

  3. Well, if you ever come to Lafayette, you’re required to bring me an ice chest full of that stuff! It’s not negotiable…

Show This Post Some Love!

