Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

DIY Splatter Text Tee

Leave a comment

Lately I’ve been on a D.I.Y. kick (of course, with the prospective DIY business with Charity). Tonight I’ve been inspired to make a splatter text shirt! For months I’ve wanted to either buy or make one of these shirts, so I decided to make it tonight! It was a fairly simple process, just time-consuming, and of course this shirt wasn’t the BEST but I liked how it turned out. So this is my first attempt at a How-To DIY Project. Let me know how I did at explaining it to you!What You'll Need

Items Needed:

  • Cutting Board or Table (you’ll need to protect the surface)
  • Shirt (I wanted an oversized look so mine was Men’s Medium & it was huge)
  • Poster Board–several sheets
  • Scissors
  • Pins
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • Fabric Dye Spray Paint (or fabric paint, fabric markers, heck acrylic paint if you want)

STEP ONE: On regular paper I brainstormed lyrics from Modern Miracle songs and made a rough sketch of how I wanted it to look on the t-shirt.

STEP TWO: I lined up two sheets of poster board on the tee to get a feel of the space I could work with on the tee.

3

STEP THREE: Using the ruler I free-handed the letters. **MAKE THIS STEP EASIER:Print out letters and trace or just buy stencils; my printer is broken :(**

45 STEP FOUR: Using the scissors I cut out the letters (I did leave some uncut for a reason) This step took the longest and was the hardest for sure **MAKE THIS STEP A LITTLE EASIER: For the straight lines of the text use exact-o blades…this is still a hard process, but that will help**

6 STEP FIVE: Line newly cut posters onto the t-shirt like in STEP two. Pin corners down.

7 STEP SIX: This is the fabric spray I used, but you can use fabric paint, fabric markers, or you could even trace the letters with tailor’s chalk and stich the letters into the shirt..hmm…

8 STEP SEVEN: Spray the stencil the desired amount, then let dry.

9 STEP EIGHT: Here is the front! I used green acrylic paint to detail it…not my favorite part about it but, if anything, this was a trial and error type shirt so I’m happy.

10 STEP NINE: Then I traced out my hand, pinned it to the back of the shirt and sprayed again.

11121314Ultimately, I’m happy with how it turned out! Now that I’ve experimented I know what to do and not to do so I’ll probably make some more!

Inspiration For this DIY:

Modern MiracleMy boyfriend’s band that I design for and manage: Modern Miracle myspace.com/modernmiracle

inspire
Oversized/graphic tees…Looking at the picture I realize that the closeness of the letters makes it cooler…duly noted.

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

Show This Post Some Love!

