Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

DIY Fitted Tunic from XL Tee

6 Comments

Finished Tunic

Finished Tunic

224244

So after lunch with Taylor today I headed over to Goodwill just out of curiousity and found this great t-shirt in the men’s section. It obviously caught my attention because of the crazy purple/gold combo, buit also still had the tags so I knew it had never been worn, which was a good thing. Well, intersting enough, the tags had a website on it that I went to where I discovered the tee came from a quirky clothing line called Le Jean DeMarithe + Francois Girbaud and originally cost $49.99! Yikes…glad I got it for $2.29 at Goodwill!. Anyways, the website was fun and mostly in French, although the shirt I bought came from a New York store…check out the website here: http://www.girbaud.com

the tag!

the tag!

BEFORE

BEFORE

Start with a large t-shirt, like the one above (mine is Men’s XL)

STEP ONE: Find a shirt that fits you well; you’ll be using this a lot as a reference to your body type.

STEP 1

STEP 1

STEP TWO: Line up the sleeve of the fitted shirt along the sleeve of the large shirt and trace a line all the way down the sleeve to fit the sleeves of the tunic to your arms.

STEP 2
STEP 2 CONT.

STEP 2 CONT.

STEP THREE: Cut the sleeves following the traced lines.

STEP 3

STEP 3

STEP FOUR: Turn the shirt inside out then line up the edges of the sleeves. Pin along the sleeve, leaving enough room for your arm

STEP 4

STEP 4

STEP FIVE: Sew along the sleeve, removing the pins as you go.

STEP 5

STEP 5

STEP SIX: Turn the shirt right side out. Line up your fitted tee with the center of your large shirt. For reference, I found the center of the large shirt, and made a mark, approximately where the shirt with hit your waist. I then marked the edges of the fitted tee.

STEP 6

STEP 6

STEP 6 CONT.

STEP 6 CONT.

STEP SEVEN: Gather up all of the fabric that comes between the two horizontal marks, keeping the gathers in the center of the shirt.

STEP 7

STEP 7

STEP EIGHT: Starting from inside the shirt (so the knot from your thread won’t be seen on the outside) sew the gathered fabric together will several large loops, then pull thread taut.

STEP 8

STEP 8

And there you have it…Basically just a fitted shirt, but it’s so super long that it’s more like a dress/tunic thing. I like it, at least!

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

6 thoughts on “DIY Fitted Tunic from XL Tee

  1. Love the outfit posts and DIY! Keep up the awesome work! 🙂

  2. Okay so all of the gals @ my office are jealous of your fashion/art skills! I had to brag a little (hope you don’t mind!).

    P.S.-I finally figured out how to add your blog to mine so I can “follow” you, yay!

    P.S.S.-So sorry I’ve posted enough on your blog today to have my own page. 🙂

  3. Alyssa you are so creative! I am so impressed! I’ve enjoyed your DIY post! Keep them coming!

    Enjoy your last weekend of summer!
    Krystal

  4. Thanks you all!
    And don’t even worry—I love seeing comments. lol
    Hopefully I can get better at the DIY stuff

  5. I have no idea how we can be related. You are so creative!

  6. That’s super cute on you!

Show This Post Some Love!

