Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

First Week of Fall Semester

1 Comment

I had an extremely interesting, emotional roller coaster kind of first week of fall semester!

I started my Monday morning at a very early 8 am–I had a very long free time since my first class didn’t start until 1 PM. I had a really great morning–Coffee, strawberry strudel, yoga….

Well, the first surprise of the Monday happened when I showed up for my class and the instructor (who is also my advisor) informs me that I can’t take that class until I take the first part of it! So, I spent my class period at my mom’s office and changing my schedule–or, well, dropping a class—so my Mondays and Wednesdays are open, now!

After that excitement, I head back to my dorm and I’m stopped by my boss’s boss (I work at the school as a student worker). She gives me a short version of a story that basically leaves me with this: “You need to choose another job to be transferred to.” Very confused, I promptly head over to my boss to see if she can straighten out my, well, confusion. She informs me she was kind of left out of the decision but she was guessing it had something to do with me not planning student activities like I should. Hmmmm…so of course I rush back over to my mom to vent–and see if her department has a student worker opening (they don’t)–and then also head over to another department who would potentially ‘take me in.’ Because she likes my design work, she would love to hire me–just one problem: she has no budget! So I’m frantically trying to put these pieces together: I’m being transferred, I wasn’t doing my work, Nobody can take me in: ding, ding, ding: that must mean I’m fired!

Anyway, for the next day and half I sort of mope around thinking I’m fired. Tuesday was bittersweet because of this–it was good finally going to two of my classes but, hello–I didn’t have a job! Tuesday night was great because me and Tay went to Applebee’s where we just enjoyed catching up on the first two days of class.

Wednesday morning was a fun one: I got coined by the TSTC President! It’s not much, but my mom was telling me that the military coined people for good deeds and, because the President was in the military, he wanted to also have a coin to give people. So I guess it’s sort of an honor, for all the designs I did for the school. I was also informed by my boss that I wasn’t fired! It’s still very hard to explain, but the main thing is that I wasn’t fired. Whew! Just a miscommunication. More info. on my ‘coining’ here:

http://www.tstcmarshall.blogspot.comcoined3

Thursday: Well, both of my classes were cancelled. hah
Friday: I have a class with Clifton! He’s mine and Tay’s friend from Joe Bucks (of course we know him from school & his church too!) haha…I’m glad it was the first class day and nothing majorly important was going on…it was kind of awkward watching him doze off…I’m going to have to draw on him next time.

How was everyone’s first week of…whatever? Or was it just another day in the life of you? 🙂

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

One thought on “First Week of Fall Semester

  1. Okay so this was a crazy first week for you. Way to go being “coined”, what an honor! Looks like your making a fab. name for yourself around TSTC! Although the job was confusing, glad you still have one 🙂 I read all of your other new posts, loved the pics as well! Is that Josh Harris in one of them? I know him…have we already talked about this? Thanks for the blog comment earlier. Have a good evening!

Show This Post Some Love!

