Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Color Me December

3 Comments

MMMM….A Large Vanilla Latte from McDonald’s on this gray, wet day was perfect to wake myself up. McDonald’s is not my first coffee shop of choice but today worked out perfectly. I ran out of coffee in my apartment and, although I was rushing and only had 10 minutes to get to work, I drove to McDonald’s for coffee. I am always pleasantly surprised that I can leave the campus at 7:50, drive to a nearby McD’s among a lot of morning traffic, order/pay/recieve coffee, drive back through traffic and still get to work on time! This McD’s is just that speedy quick!

Ok…I realize my morning adventure is not a large feat, but when I get decent and quick service at a fastfood place and the workers are nice(ish) I am always surprised. Especially when it’s the morning time and their drive thru’s are packed.

Ok, ok…no more. 😉

Ah, Monday…how was everyone’s weekend? Tay and I watched The Office all night Friday night and then met up Saturday morning and drove to Shreveport where I picked up Tori’s Christmas present! Well, part of it. Then that night we went to HHS’s theatre production of You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown (musical) It was very cute and I was surprised at how well everyone could sing. Even if they couldn’t sing sing, they did great theatre-singing. We met up with Charity, Nathan and Mrs. Pam so of course all we could do all night was boo hoo about missing theatre.

So, I don’t know if it’s the dreary weather or the season change but I got to work this morning and was suddenly in the mood for some bright pop of color! I saw this photo of MK&A and was actually inspired by that orange dress. I don’t like orange clothing! And I probably wouldn’t wear that color, ever, in such a large piece of clothing. But that bold shock of color (along with the cute blue scarf) just made me want to wear some bright colors! And of course I love Mary-Kate’s black lacy dress, too.

I do need an intervention! I am just so drawn to blacks, browns, tans, grays! I am not apologetic for this, but if I keep it up my entire wardrobe is going to be those colors! Maybe I’ll go shopping today and pick up a couple of colorful shirts or something.

Also: The last couple of weeks have been christmas card weeks! We took family photos for the christmas card, and then Tay and I took webcam photos and sent e-cards to everyone on facebook. Saves money since we don’t have much of that. And tis the season to get my freelance on! People want family Christmas cards! And I am more than happy to take those photos! I have my second family tonight! Very excited that I’m getting those photo opportunities! 🙂

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Color Me December

  1. Very cute of you and Taylor!! Loved the family one too! Sweet!

  2. I’m really glad that you’re off of that random holiday celebration blogging.
    🙂
    Miss you.
    We’ve got to get together as soon as I get to town.

    P.S. Sherlock Holmes after Christmas festivities?

  3. psh, katy. you know you loved my random holiday posts.
    😉

    jk i don’t care

    Tay and I definitely want to see Holmes!

    But more importantly I’m ready to see you! goodness! so we shall hang out whenever you get here!

Show This Post Some Love!

