Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Couch-to-5K

Leave a comment

The day after writing my first post about my second new year’s resolution to exercise, I came across coolrunning.com and an article for The Couch-to-5K Running Plan.

Like I said in my previous post: I’m keeping my goals simple. But, this plan aligned so well with the goals I had already laid out for myself, I wanted to give it a second glance.

Their Goals: (sound familiar to my own?)

  • 3 Days a Week
  • 30 Minutes a Day
  • 9 Weeks

The basis for the Couch-to-5K is to be able to run a 5K within 9 weeks. I’m not interested in that. I’m not even necessarily interested in solely running during the week. I’m all about walking, yoga and basic exercise at this point. But I’m excited to see if using a trainer app will help my motivation to push myself to the next level.

I’m Already Disappointed About…

I downloaded the Couch-to-5K app for $1.99. I like the layout of it so far, however…

Image

They offer different ‘trainers’ and boasted about their all new Zombie Trainer. Alas, that was only for iphone users. I was hoping it was for Android as well.

I also….

Decided to try a less strenuous running app:

  • I downloaded the Run Double app for free.
  • Through the phone app, I signed up for AchieveMint.com which is a site that rewards you based on a points system for your running. ($25-$100 Visa gift cards)

I’m intrigued by the motivation it gives and the points it promises.

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

Show This Post Some Love!

