Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Allergies, A Short Story

3 Comments

pollen

 

Ugh.

Once upon a time in 2012, I had my first ever full blown allergy attack. Perhaps not an attack, but…throat swollen, eyes watery, sneezing…all the tell-tell signs. Perplexed, I thought it was strep throat, a cold, the flu? Alas, it was allergies. The pollen had found its way into my system and mangled my sinuses to oblivion. It lasted about a week and I could barely talk or think straight.

I completely forgot about it. Being in my twenties, never having suffered from allergy season before, you can imagine how I wasn’t exactly prepared for YEAR TWO: Attack of the Allergies.

This weekend, as I began my spring cleaning with an energetic verve that is saved only for special occasions, little did I notice the yellow and green pollen floating lazily through the wind. Nor did I awaken to my fate as I began to note the thin, dusty coat settling on the hoods of cars and door knobs. Even as I arose Sunday morning with a scratchy throat and began to create my overly excited blog posts welcoming the lovely spring season (To be posted later this week), I still kept a blind eye to the reality creeping upon me.

As Sunday night approached, and the sore throat transformed into bouts of coughing, sneezing and headaches I was forced to come to grips with my ever-increasing irritation.

What had transpired during my energetic weekend? What could be bothering me to the point of physical and emotional turmoil? What would become of me on Monday morning?

That’s when it hit me.

The pollen. The pollen was back. With the sunshine and breeze, the blooming flowers and insects…came the stuff of nightmares. My new fate had once again befallen me. The allergies. They were back.

And Monday? You fell victim to the attack, as well. And Tuesday? Prepare for the worst.

Don your Allegra and cough drops. Grab your face masks and tissues. The allergies will rise again.

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Allergies, A Short Story

  1. I don’t have allergies, but I’m allergic to a bug that keeps biting me in the night. So that’s fun.

    It’s never as bad as that though. I’m so sorry. What a crappy beginning to the week.

    Stay under those blankets and feel better. You’ll be in my thoughts. I’ll throw eggs at any pollen I see. Jerks.

    I look forward to your spring happiness post!

    • Oh no! Bug allergies are not fun. At least my allergies only last during a short season.

      Thanks so much! I’m carrying tissues and cough drops with me everywhere I go today. Dumb pollen.

  2. Pingback: Etsy Shopping | Honeybee | Mismatched Mess

Show This Post Some Love!

