Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

The Bucket List Life

4 Comments

10931102_10206331070625467_4039319543587140393_n

We are halfway into January and I couldn’t be more excited about the new year! When I think about what I want out of this year for myself and Taylor, one word really sticks out: adventure. I’m so ready to make 2015 a year of travel, learning and creativity.

Taylor and I love going on road trips and have taken one every summer since we’ve been married, so I know we are suited to traveling. We’ve enjoyed road trips all throughout the southern states, took a trip to Belize to visit Taylor’s dad, and (obviously) made the move to England for school. As we were preparing for our trip across the pond, so many friends and family would go on about all the places we could visit; London! Paris! Scotland! And I would respond with “Oh, definitely,” because, of course, right?!

But despite all that, despite the love of travel and the “For sure, we’ll be visiting XY&Z,” the travel bug didn’t hit me until this January! And once it hit, it hit hard!

 

Last weekend we decided to take a Saturday trip to London to visit a couple of the famous London monuments. We spent the morning visiting Buckingham Palace, seeing the gates, the Canada Memorial Gates and the Victoria Fountain. We then visited Green Park and Hyde Park, as well as the War Memorials and the Wellington Arch. The afternoon was spent at Westminster Cathedral and The British Museum. (All of these places were free!)

Being amidst so many amazing historical monuments was what had me researching cities and countries in and around England that night. There are SO many wonderful sights to experience, rich with history and beauty, and now I want to see it all! From the shores of Whitstable–just a short bus ride away–to the Carpet of Flowers in Brussels, Belgium. 2015 will be the year we travel!

Our ‘plan’ is to travel often and travel cheaply! We want to take many, many Saturday day trips to the surrounding cities. Traveling in England will be inexpensive and most of the sights we want to see are free. Then there are the ‘big’ trips. We don’t know how many we’ll be able to afford, but the price of a bus or train, or even plane, ticket from London to many other countries is so inexpensive, we really don’t have much of an excuse!

I’ve created two sort of ‘wishful thinking’ lists of places I’d love to see, most of which are incredibly viable options! Pinterest has made my dreaming incredibly easy with beautiful photos and advice all rolled into a simple Pinterest Board. I can add to it as I please! I’ve also started a list of goals at bucketlistly.com. This website makes it simple to create a ‘bucketlist’ of places I want to travel and things I want to do. I also enjoy Bucketlistly because, once I’ve achieved a goal, I share a photo of that goal and it’s added to my profile! You can see my ‘achieved’ goals here: My Life Visualized.

Yes, this will be our year of adventure! And really, so much more goes into that word. I’d like to work on my photography, I want to paint more, I want to venture into creating videos…I expect that word will fit quite nicely in 2015, and we’ve already started making it a reality!

list (4)

 

 

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

4 thoughts on “The Bucket List Life

  1. I love the excitement in your voice!! I can’t wait till live out your adventures with you through your posts. How far is Holland? Mamaw would want you to see the tulips there. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 25 Things I Want to Do While I’m 25 | Mismatched Mess

  3. Pingback: I’m 25 | Mismatched Mess

Show This Post Some Love!

