Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Writing 101: Day One

4 Comments

Writing 101

Blogging 101: Unlock the mind.

I’m beginning a basic blogging class for the month of April. The first assignment is to write a stream of thoughts for 20 minutes straight without thinking too hard or trying to really make sense. Let’s do this.

I thought this exercise was quite interesting. I struggle so much with what to say and how to say it while writing blogs. I can never seem to formulate ANY topic, or thought. I end up posting really dull, lifeless and vague posts coupled with many, many photos. Which is fine for what it is…but I really want to do more. I want to reach into my mind and write about topics that matter to me…truly matter in the world, even. I hope this helps to really unlock my mind.

7-tips-on-how-to-brand-yourself-online-300x191

I’ve been thinking a lot, recently, about branding myself. I think I have an interesting niche. I’d love to break into creating videos, tweets and general content marketed around that niche style. It’s really intimidating just starting out…I don’t know what my balance should be. I don’t know how to balance the humor with the legitimate adventures Taylor and I have. But week after week I continue getting vague ideas that I feel could really turn into something fun. I struggle with creating content and keeping a schedule, so I’m automatically putting so much pressure on myself to succeed that I’m basically allowing myself to fail. I think the fact that I keep getting ideas is proof enough that I should try to expand on this and see where it takes me. What if the only thing holding me back is my own laziness? This is something I’m incredibly interested in, so what if it actually becomes something? (Entire vague paragraph of vague hints of my idea: check)

I’ve been getting quite a bit of organic blog growth in the past few weeks, which is cool, but at the same time it provides another sense of panic. I wonder why the heck these people are visiting, what content brings them here and how should I expand on that. So many questions go into making a successful blog. The things is though, I really don’t care to have a “successful” blog in the strictest of sense. I don’t care to be monetized or famous. I enjoy being a personal blog, I enjoy posting photos and life adventures. However, I really do have the desire to create MORE…to do MORE. I’m torn between not caring about my blog, letting it be what it is and only posting a couple times a month, and the true desire to use this blogging space to unleash my creativity, humor and my opinion.

39366b3b1539b9c6fdf33861de7a8db96eb37b36631efa66060ec9ed2e7131ec

I’ve done this in the past. I’ve focused and grown my content. I experimented with different topics and I’ve taken the time to slowly write down the thoughts and emotions I have with certain topics. I actually enjoy my ‘writing’ voice. I think I can come up with powerful and/or humorous opinions that move me when I re-read them. I love that! I love that I have that ability…but it’s weak. It’s not honed at all, so it’s incredibly difficult to write in that way. I need to strengthen my voice and my vocabulary. It really has proven to be true, the saying, ‘use it or lose it.’ I’ve all but lost my writing skills.

I hope to discover what blogging really means to me with these blogging exercises so that I can focus my energy on things that matter. I think blogging will always be a part of my life no matter what I discover or decide in the coming month, but I hope to really find out if ‘branding’ myself and my blog can actually be something that brings growth, followers and entertainment. If it’s not meant to be, then of course I’ll post as always. This space will always be a place for my personal life, my adventures, and the many photos I take along the way. And I’m absolutely ok with that. I just don’t want to box myself in.

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day One

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who isn’t sure about why people are reading my blog.

  2. I enjoyed this. These are the same struggles that I, and I’m sure most of those blogging out there, have. How do you brand yourself without becoming just another spammer? I’m hoping to do so through building community, that might be a good idea for you too. Just a thought.

  3. Hi,

    Thanks a lot for following my blog. 🙂

Show This Post Some Love!

