Mismatched Mess

of life, love, fashion, & forgetting to update

Finding Ways to Keep Focused

3 Comments

Seinfeld | George Falling Asleep Under Desk

A couple weeks ago I described losing focus while working. I linked it to being uninspired with certain projects and blamed it on my personality type. (There’s always something else to blame, isn’t there?)

I really don’t like being unproductive when it comes to my job, but I can’t deny that I work best in bursts of energy. When I have those inspiring, energetic moments I soar. I absolutely love the feeling. I can multi-task like no other; creating, emailing, advertising…all at once. It’s amazing. But just like with the energy you can get from a sugar high, the crash is inevitable. And with crashes come lulls.

That’s what I need to learn to deal with. The lull. I need to learn to better manage myself during THOSE times.

I’ve been working on finding that balance and have learned a few things about myself along the way.

1. I’ve learned that waking up early is GOOD. It’s so good for me. I feel better through the whole day just by giving myself the proper amount of sleep and waking up at a decent hour.

2. Scheduling is my friend. I do tend to go off schedule when I’m having one of those bursts of creative energy, but on a daily basis it’s helpful to schedule my days.

3. When in doubt clean out the email! My mind is as organized as my email. I take time each week to open, read and file away emails. That way I can focus on the most important projects.

4. Change of scenery…occasionally. Once a month or less, I pack up my laptop and find a coffee shop in town to work in. I’m not going to deny the perks of working from home,but working alone all day everyday can get tedious, even for an introvert. Changing the scene every once in a while really helps me recharge.


Today’s Prompt: write about finding something.Today’s twist: if you wrote day four’s post as the first in a series, use this one as the second installment — loosely defined.

Author: Alyssa

I am an East Texan graphic designer living in Canterbury, Kent, UK with my husband. My favorite sport is rearranging my furniture. When I'm not writing blogs, you can find me making fun of myself on Snapchat or Twitter, or being hipster on Instagram. Coffee, vintage and The Office reruns for life. Find me elsewhere: Snapchat: lyssssabeth | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Finding Ways to Keep Focused

  1. I think the lulls are what kill most of us, especially in an office environment. That’s why you have so many who stand around talking to you while you are trying to work…

    • Definitely! (I imagine you typing that while imaginary coworkers are standing over your shoulder; you pointing to the screen hoping they get the hint. 😛 )

  2. Pingback: Motivational Monday – Reflecting On Losing–and Finding–Focus | Mismatched Mess

Show This Post Some Love!

